By Maria Weaver

Hamilton City Council will not only have a new mayor at its next meeting, but also two new councilmen, while Hamilton Independent School District’s board of trustees will not change.

Mayor Jim McInnis and councilmen Jim Eidson and Cody Morris will take the oath of office later this week, and their first meeting will be posted after the election results are canvassed.

Dr. Randy Lee and Brenda Andrews were re-elected to their school board seats, with 229 and 207 votes, respectively. Challenger Amanda Thompson received 93 votes.

McInnis ran unopposed for the mayor seat and received 152 votes. Eidson and Morris received 132 and 95 votes, respectively, edging out incumbents Jack Kindle with 83 and Ray Riley with 56.

Because of quorum issues with the three new members of the council, this week’s council meeting will be rescheduled. Watch the city’s and Herald-News’ Facebook pages and the city’s website for updates on the meeting time.

Get In Touch

The Hamilton Herald-News
P.O. Box 833
Hamilton, TX 76531

 (254) 386-3145
 (254) 386-3001